Finding out if rice bran oil is gluten-free is very important, especially for those with gluten-related health issues. Rice bran oil among other things is a very healthy oil, it has a very low cholesterol level and zero trans fat.
Many people choose rice bran oil because it doesn’t have a greasy aftertaste from deep frying unlike some other types of oil. Rice bran oil is also great for stir-frying and pan searing. But is it a perfect choice for a gluten-free diet?
Yes, rice bran oil is gluten-free, it is extracted from rice that doesn’t contain gluten or any traces of it. Rice bran oil is a very safe and nutritious oil that fits perfectly into a gluten-free diet.
There is actually no reason no consider cooking your meal with rice bran oil, apart from its subtle nutty flavor it contains a lot of health benefits that probably had no idea about. Want to be sure rice bran oil is gluten-free? Read along, this article contains all the facts you need to know.
What Is Rice Bran Oil Made From?
Rice bran oil is made from the outer layer of the rice husks.
The method of extracting the oil from the rice bran is a very careful process, as the germ and inner bran of the rice are first expelled, extracted, and refined.
The process is just as similar to the manufacturing process of peanut oil. The rice bran is further processed into a cake, the oil cake is then squeezed to separate the oil from the cake.
Is Rice Bran Oil Healthy?
Rice bran oil may not be as popular as other oil but it is absolutely healthy. It doesn’t contain cholesterol and transfat. Research has shown that rice bran oil is enriched with good fats ( mono and polyunsaturated fat.
You’ll be making a very healthy choice when you cook with rice bran oil as it is also an excellent source of vitamin K, vitamin E, minerals, and antioxidants.
Health Benefits Of Rice Bran Oil
There are several health benefits of cooking with rice bran oil and they include;
1. Lower Blood Sugar Level
People with high blood sugar levels may benefit a great deal from using rice bran oil to prepare their dishes. Subsequent use of rice bran oil can help reduce blood sugar levels and also reduce the risks of diabetes.
2. Promotes Healthy Hair And Skin
Applying some rice bran oil on the skin and hair can nourish the hair and prevent breakage. The skin however is not left out as rice bran oil can shield the skin from UV light and eliminate any occurrence of sunburn.
This benefit is thanks to the fact that rice bran oil contains vitamin E, omega fatty acids 3 and 6, and pretty much other essential minerals and vitamins.
3. Strengthens The Immune System
The immune system always needs to be strengthened as they protect the body from illnesses and diseases. Rice bran oil has proven to help keep the immune system at its best.
4. Good For Weight Management
Rice bran oil contains mono and polyunsaturated fat which is considered to be “good fat”. Using rice bran oil to prepare your meals can help facilitate weight loss or management.
5. Improve Oral Health
Oil pulling can eliminate bad breath and using rice bran oil other than other oil is very effective. You can’t help to notice that your breath is fresher when you use rice bran oil for oil pulling.
Is Rice Bran Oil Gluten Free?
Rice bran oil is absolutely gluten-free. It is safe for people with celiac diseases, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and those on a gluten-free diet.
The oil is not wheat-based as it is majorly extracted from rice bran which is not considered to be harmful to people with gluten-related issues.
However, you may need to ensure that it has not been cross-contaminated by gluten or wheat either in the factor it was produced or even at home.
Nutritional Value Of Rice Bran Oil
The following is the nutritional fact of rice bran oil per tablespoon (14g).
- Calories: 120
- Fat: 13.6g
- Dietary fiber: 0g
- Cholesterol: 0mg
- Carbohydrate: 0g
- Sodium: 0mg
- Proteins: 0g
- Total Sugar: 0g
- Phosphorus: 0mg
- Calcium: 0mg
- Potassium: 0mg
- Iron: 0mg.
Rice bran oil is a very healthy oil and it is completely gluten-free.
People with gluten-related disorders and allergies can safely deep fry, stir fry, or pan-sear their meals without having to worry about having a negative reaction to this oil.
Always remember to watch out for cross contaminations, read the product labels to be sure, and also avoid rice bran oil that has been used to cook foods containing gluten or wheat.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?