Types Of Chinese Noodles: Are They Gluten-Free?

Types Of Chinese Noodles: Are They Gluten-Free?

Want to try Chinese noodles but can’t tell if they have gluten or not? This is the guide for you.

Chinese Noodles are a type of noodles that originated in China. Various noodles exist in different parts of the world that are sometimes called Chinese noodles or Chow Mein, all under the Asian noodles category.

Rice noodles, egg noodles, Cellophane noodles, Ramen noodles, and Ho Fun noodles; are popular Chinese noodles enjoyed in different parts of the world.

1. Egg Noodles

As the name implies, they are made from a combination of eggs and wheat flour. They are commonly called Chow Mein. It does not stick to the pan which is an advantage for those who don’t owe a non-stick pot. A serving of egg noodles contains does not contain high calories. Since they are made from wheat flour, they are not gluten-free

2. Rice Noodles

Rice noodles are sometimes called rice stick noodles or rice sticks. They are also popularly called rice vermicelli. While these names are used many times interchangeably, they can be used for different types of noodles as well. They are Chinese noodles manufactured from rice flour and water. They can also be made at home. They are gluten-free. They can be prepared and enjoyed in different forms. 

3. Ho Fun Noodles

Ho fun Noodles are a type of Chinese noodles. It is also called Shahe fen or He fen or hofoen. It is made from rice. This implies Ho Fun noodles are free from gluten.  They can be enjoyed in various forms. 

4. Cellophane Noodles

They are also called Fensi noodles. They are a type of transparent noodles made from mung bean starch and water. They are also sometimes made from sweet potatoes. They are largely gluten-free.

5. Ramen Noodles

Ramen noodles are quite popular even outside Asian countries. They are made largely made from wheat flour, hence they are not gluten-free.

6. Quinoa Noodles

Many say quinoa noodles are the healthiest type of Chinese noodles. They are made from wheat flour and hence are not gluten-free. They are equally tasty and offer a healthy pack of nutrients.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Chinese Noodles Healthy?

Chinese noodles have nutrients and calories to varying degrees. Be sure to check especially if you are to avoid certain types of meals. They are largely healthy with a lower amount of calories. Many of the noodles are served with vegetables and meat, this makes them packed with nutrients. 

Are There Gluten-Free Chinese Noodles?

There are gluten-free brands of Chinese noodles that commonly contain gluten. Ramen, Udon noodles, and other types of Chinese noodles have gluten-free versions. These gluten-free versions are largely available. As aforementioned, it is important to check for the ingredients before purchase.

How Do I Tell Gluten-Free Chinese Noodles?

Many Chinese noodles are not gluten-free. A simple way to know is to check out the ingredients before picking the noodles of choice before purchasing for home cooking. This could also apply when you are eating out. Something quick to note in making a choice is: It is a NO for all wheat noodles and a YES for all rice noodles. This is in the case where the main flour used is one without the addition of another flour.

Final Thoughts

While it is a little hard to resist Chinese noodles on a menu in a fancy restaurant, it is better to choose safety; Better safe than sorry, remember?

It is advisable to go through the list above and be sure of the type of Chinese noodles your body can tolerate. 

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.