Is Chicken Ham & Liver Halal? (GUIDE)

Is Chicken Ham & Liver Halal?

Chicken is one of the most widely consumed poultry products worldwide. Given that chickens are among the most popular animals, this comes as no surprise. In addition, a chicken’s entire body is edible and delicious. Many varied foods can also use chicken parts as parts of their recipe.

All chicken parts are edible, although specific chicken parts have been the subject of various discussions and inquiries. Ham and the chicken liver pieces have received most of the attention. Is the chicken ham, and liver halal? Is eating it acceptable for Muslims? The conclusions from our research on this subject are below.

According to the laws of Islam and the conclusion of different scholars, the ham and liver parts of the chicken are edible and permissible to be eaten. 

What Is Chicken Ham Made Of?

While the majority of the Muslim community believes and understands that according to the laws in the Quran, these parts of the chicken are halal and permissible for them to eat, however, there are a few who have contrary opinions. In getting to the truth, we need to know how the chicken ham and the liver are made and see if it is contrary to the laws of Islam.

The chicken ham is made of a whole chicken, mainly the fleshy parts. Ham can be either smoked, baked, cured, etc. In most cases, ham purchased in stores is usually pre-cooked and does not necessarily require much cooking.

Since ham is made of a whole chicken, it is safe to say that ham is chicken, however, it is made of just the fleshy parts.

What Is The Liver Made Of?

The chicken liver is a part of the organs of a chicken, just like in humans, the function of the chicken liver is to process toxins, make them safe, or ensure their safe removal from the body.

However, this doesn’t make the liver dirty or uneatable. The liver is full of nutrients such as protein and vitamin A.

What Does The Quran Say On Halal?

According to the Quran and the laws of Islam, there are different food that is considered haram (forbidden) and halal (permissible).

The members of the Muslim community are to stay away from all food that is considered haram and should only embrace those named halal. With much focus on animals and birds, it is only important that you know the animals and birds that are permissible for you to eat and those that are not.

Animals and meat such as Beef, lamb, chicken, venison, and game birds are regarded as halal(permissible). However, haram animals are pigs, reptiles, animals who live on land and water, and predatory animals.

Not only are some animals stated in the Quran as haram but it is stated that some practices can make some halal meat haram. Here are some of these practices;

  • The animal must be fed a regular diet that does not contain animal by-products
  • The animal must be alive and healthy at the time of slaughtering
  • The animal must be slit at the throat, with a sharp knife
  • Allah’s name must be pronounced during the slaughter
  • The animal must be hung down and the blood must be completely drained.

These are a few of some of the laws. If the animal you have is halal but goes against these laws, it is considered haram.

Some people believe that the chicken liver should not be eaten, with their arguments based on the Surat Al-An’am:145 which states that;

“Say: I find not in the message received by me by inspiration any(meat) forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it unless it is dead meat, or blood poured forth, or the flesh of swine- for it is an abomination- or what is impious, (meat) on which a name has been invoked other than Allah’s. But (even so), if a person is forced by necessity, without willful disobedience, nor transgressing due limits, thy Lord is oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.”

 However, after much research, it was discovered that the “poured out blood” in the verse above refers to the blood which flows directly from the veins of the animal, and the liver is coagulated.

In addition to this, the Prophet (peace and blessing be upon him) stated that “two dead animals and two kinds of blood have been permitted for us to eat, fish and locusts, the liver and the spleen”. This guides our conclusion that chicken liver is halal and safe for you to eat.

Other Halal Liver And Ham According To Islam

The chicken isn’t the only animal that you can eat its liver and ham, there are other animals whose ham and liver are suitable for you. the following are some of these animals.

  • Turkey Ham and liver
  • Beef Ham and liver
  • Lamb ham and liver.

Which Animal Ham And Liver Are Harams?

According to the Quran, all animals listed as haram should not be eaten and this includes their body parts and by-products.

This indicated that ham and livers of animals prohibited by the Quran should not be eaten. These animals include pigs, reptiles, dogs, cats, and other predatory animals. This also includes animals that live on both land and water such as alligators and crocodiles.

Body Parts Of Animals Considered Haram

  • Male and female organs
  • Bladder
  • Glands
  • Gallbladder
  • The blood from the body, heart, liver, and spleen
  • Anus
  • Intestine
  • Sperms (sperm that has transformed into blood, or flesh)
  • Tripe
  • Bile
  • Nasal fluid found in sheep
  • Testicles.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Ham Made From Beef Or Pork?

The word ham is mainly used to refer to cured pork legs. however, there are now different varieties of ham, such as beef ham, turkey ham, chicken ham, etc. ham can be made from different edible animals.

Is Chicken Ham Cooked?

Chicken ham often doesn’t come as cooked; however, it is mostly pre-cooked. Most ham sold is already cured, baked, or smoked.

Can I Eat Chicken Ham Cold?

Yes, you can eat your ham cold or however, you want it. If you will be reheating your already cooked ham, it is recommended that you set your oven at a temperature lower than 325 degrees F.

Final Thoughts

Although ham is mainly used to refer to cured pork meat, there are now varieties and chicken ham is one of them.

Chicken ham is no different than regular chicken, this makes it permissible for the Muslim community. Although it has been argued that the liver contains blood and should not be eaten, it is not true as the liver doesn’t contain flowing blood which is haram according to the Quran.

This means the liver is halal and permissible for you to eat.

Keep reading:

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 3.7 / 5. Vote count: 3

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?