Are Tofu Pops Gluten-Free? (Best Answer)

Are Tofu Pops Gluten-Free?

If we are being honest, we will all agree that tofu pops are super delicious but are they gluten-free? For health or personal reason, a lot of people are adopting a gluten-free diet. Celiac disease is one of the common reasons why people are advised to stay off gluten.

Gluten is a family of proteins that are derived from wheat, rye, spelt, triticale, and barley. They help keep meals glued together and a perfect example of this is bread. Gluten-free meals are recommended for those with health conditions like celiac disease and non-celiac sensitivity.

Tofu pops on the other hand is a soymilk-based proteinous dish. It takes its origin from Asia but has been the top choice for most people around the world.

Majorly because tofu is a meatless-based food, vegans and vegetarians always add them to their meal plans. However, it is very comprehensible for people on a gluten-free diet to ask questions like: is tofu pops gluten-free?

Yes, tofu pops are gluten-free. Tofu naturally does not contain any gluten ingredients. Primarily tofu is made from soy milk and coagulants. However, you should be precautious when purchasing tofu as some store-bought tofu pops may not be gluten-proof.

It is very important to be sure that a meal doesn’t contain gluten especially when you are on a gluten-free diet. This article takes a deeper look at whether tofu pops are gluten-free and also other related questions.

YouTube video

Are Tofu Pops Safe For A Gluten-Free Diet?

It is general knowledge that tofu is primarily prepared with 3 simple ingredients which are basically dried soybeans, water, and coagulants (lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, or nigari powder). These ingredients are considered gluten and this makes tofu gluten-free.

However, I’d recommend that you watch out for some tofu that contains additives like sweeteners and certain flavoring as they may be wheat based. A lot of attention needs to be paid to the ingredients used to make tofu pops.

Furthermore, homemade tofu pops are your best bet when craving tofu pops as some of the storebought tofu pops are a bit of a gamble for people with gluten-related health issues. As long as your tofu pops are homemade and gluten ingredients are not included, you don’t have to worry about enjoying tofu pops.

Gluten-Free Tofu Pops

There are quite a number of tofu pops that can be included in your gluten-free diet and they are listed below;

1. Tofu Cake Pops

Who wouldn’t love tofu cake pops, they are very enjoyable and snacky, and guess what? They are gluten-free as well. Despite their deliciousness, tofu cake pops can be void of gluten ingredients. Always ensure that components that don’t suit your gluten-free diet are not included in your tofu pop and you are good to go.

2. Mango Beet Tofu Pops

This recipe includes 4 natural ingredients and they are considered very much safe for people that are very sensitive to gluten. Want to make mango beet tofu pops? All you’ll be needs is bananas, mangoes, and pre-cooked beet. Mango beet tofu pops are very safe for a gluten-free diet and delicious as well.

3. Tropical Tofu Ice Pops

Tropical tofu ice pops have a rich savory taste, it features mangoes, oranges, kiwi, coconut water, and more importantly tofu. This combination consequently doesn’t contain gluten ingredients and it is a perfect addition to a gluten-free diet.

4. Chocolate Tofu Pops

Tofu chocolate ice cream popsicles
Image: HannaKelund.com

Who says you can not also enjoy chocolate tofu pops while on a gluten-free diet? This recipe is very safe and only contains natural ingredients. These ingredients are cacao powder, silken tofu, banana, coconut, or almond milk.

5. Dreamy Ice Cream Tofu pops

You can prepare dreamy tofu ice cream popsicles without gluten ingredients. The recipe contains gluten-free melted chocolates, plant-based milk, vanilla extract, carob powder, dates, salt, and silken tofu. The combination of these gluten-free ingredients makes this recipe very sweet and tasty.

Bottom Line

A gluten-free diet is very important for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. However, people without these health conditions can also make a healthy decision of staying off gluten meals.

Tofu pops are made from natural from natural and non-gluten ingredients so they are practically gluten-free. Nonetheless, precautions still have to be taken as some tofu may contain flavoring and additives that contain gluten.

This article recommends homemade tofu pops instead.

More on Tofu:

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.