Is Old Bay Seasoning Vegan?

Is Old Bay Seasoning Vegan

We have to admit that old bay seasoning adds a unique flavor to meals, however, it will be nice to know if it is safe for vegans and vegetarians.

Old bay seasoning is very popular in many homes, it is used to season any kind of dish including meat-based meals. It is no wonder why vegans seem skeptical about using it to prepare meals. Hence the question; Is old bay seasoning vegan?

Yes, old bay seasoning is vegan. This classic seasoning is void of any animal-derived ingredients, it is quite salty, tangy, and slightly spicy.

There is a variety of seasonings in the market but old bay seasoning seems to be quite unique and different from the others. It comes in different flavors but many still prefer the original old bay seasoning.

Let’s now get you started on everything you need to know about old bay seasoning.

About Old Bay Seasoning

Old bay seasoning was founded by Gustav Brunn in 1939 after he immigrated from Germany to Baltimore. It was initially called “Delicious brand shrimp and crab seasoning” and was later renamed old bay seasoning in honor of a shipping line that sailed in the Chesapeake Bay.

He successfully sold the seasoning to Marylanders who were looking for a better way to spice up their seafood recipe. With time people started adding old bay seasoning to bloody mary and all other delicacies.

Later in 1990, Gustav Brunn sold the company rights to McCormick & Co. The taste of old bay seasoning has been consistent even after McCormick took over, the flavor it renders still remains the same.

What Are The Ingredients In Old Bay Seasoning?

The company has been quite secretive about the ingredients used in making old bay seasoning. However, there are speculations that old bay seasoning consists of 18 ingredients of which the brand has only mentioned a few ingredients.

And these ingredients include;

  • Celery salt
  • Black pepper
  • Red pepper
  • Paprika
  • Mustard

While many are quite unsure about old bay seasoning, because of the company’s inability to be transparent about the complete ingredients, the manufacturer pledges that the seasoning is safe and gluten-free.

OLD BAY Seasoning, 7.5 lb - One 7.5 Pound Container of OLD BAY All-Purpose Seafood Seasoning, Perfect for Seafood, Chicken, Chowder, Pizza, Fries and More

Is Old Bay Seasoning Safe For Vegans?

Yes, vegans can spice up their meals with old bay seasoning as it doesn’t contain any animal-based ingredients. It can be used to add flavor to various dishes, vegetables, and even drinks such as bloody mary.

There is some seasoning that contains milk products, seafood, and meat-derived ingredients, be sure to look out for them. However old bay seasoning is made from salt, herbs, and spices which are considered to be vegan friendly and also safe for a gluten-free diet.

Is Old Bay Seasoning Healthy?

Old bay seasoning contains a lot of sodium. If you hoping to reduce your salt intake it is best to avoid adding old bay seating to your meal. One serving of old bay seasoning covers 6% of the body’s required daily salt intake. Aside from the worrisome sodium content, old bay seasoning can offer some nutrients to the body.

The ingredients in this seasoning contain some minerals and vitamins, but I would advise that you use old bay seasoning sparingly as excess salt intake has triggered health problems such as kidney failures, and high blood pressure.

Vegan-Friendly Seasonings You Can Try

In case you do want to be limited to old bay seasoning for your meals, here is a long list of vegan-friendly seasonings you can still try;

  • Frontier Co-Op Cajun Seasoning
  • MAD Greens MAD Spice Salad Seasoning
  • Flavor God Cajun Lovers Seasoning
  • Loisa Salt-Free Sazon Seasoning
  • McCormicks Culinary Sloppy Joe Seasoning Mix
  • Trinidad Fresh Green Seasoning
  • Watson’s Seasoning
  • Foodies Mixed Herb Seasoning
  • Weber Burger Seasoning
  • Mr. Spice Organic Sweet and Sour Sauce
  • Simply Organic All-Seasons Salt.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it safe to add seasoning to my vegan diet?

Yes, it is very safe to cook with some seasoning even when you are vegan. Herbs and spices give your meal a great taste. However, you have to be sure there are no animal-based ingredients in the mix before use.

Is old bay seasoning good for the keto diet?

The original old bay season is keto friendly. It doesn’t contain sugar or carbs. You have absolutely nothing to worry about with old bay seasoning if you are on a keto diet.

Is cajun seasoning the same as old bay seasoning?

No cajun seasoning and old bay seasoning are very different from each other. Cajun seasoning is more hot and spicy than old bay seasoning.

Is old bay seasoning MSG-free?

Yes, old bay seasoning is completely free of MSG. If you are sensitive and have negative reactions to monosodium glutamate, you have nothing to worry about with old bay seasoning as it has been successfully declared MSG-free.

Summary

Old bay seasoning is great for vegans as it strictly contains herbs and plant-based ingredients.

It is safe to use old bay seasoning for any vegan recipe of your choice. However, you have to be cautious about its sodium content if you are also on a low-sodium diet.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.